Donnachiara

IMG_0274[2]I’m attempting to drink my way through as many of Wine Spectators top 100 wines of 2012 as I can. Today I found myself enjoying Donnachiara Aglianico Irpinia 2008 a $20 super value wine from Italy and number 100 on the list!
I find this wine so interesting because its made for 100% Aglianico grapes. Aglianico pronounced roughly “ahl-YAH-nee-koe” is a black grape grown in the Campania region of Italy. This wine is nicknamed “the Barolo of the Southern Italy”. The name Apulianicum was the name for all of southern Italy in ancient Rome. During this period, it was the principal grape of the famous Falernian wine, the Roman equivalent of a first-growth Bordeaux wine today. Falernian wine was a subject of one of my early blogs and I’ll repost that story. So I’m getting a kick out of drinking wine that Roman Senators from 120 BC would be familiar with.
Well, that’s why I drink wine, history in a glass.
This wine has a stunning display of character and is not for the faint of heart. The wine has a great ruby red color. The bouquet is full, complex and intense inviting you to drink. The taste was full favor, warm and elegant. This wine has an excellent refined finish. Everything comes together in this wine making it a pleasure to drink. Some may wish to Decanter, I found the wine enjoyable right from the start.
Wine maker Chiara Petitto should be very proud of this wine. Like a good Falernian wine it comes from 30 year old vines on hillside vineyards from the province of Irpinia which is just west of Naples. “Bacchus amat colles” — “Bacchus loves hills”. The wine is fermented in stainless steel, and then aged in French oak for 6 months. I’d start looking now for this wine, only 1,600 cases were made. Alcohol content is 13.5%. I found my bottle at Center Street Wine and Spirits in Wallingford Connecticut.

Leave a Reply

