Mollydooker “The Boxer”

IMG_0323

Mollydooker “The Boxer”

So, I think I can guess your first question: what’s a Mollydooker?  Mollydooker is Australian slang for a left handed person.  If you know any Australians, then you know they are fun people, both very engaging and vivacious. So are their wines.  Vivacious is an excellent word to describe Aussie wines.  One of my favorites was “Clancy,” which I reviewed a while ago and, if I can find it, I will repost.  But more recently it’s the Mollydooker series of wines have absolutely got my attention.  

Mollydooker has a concept that is new to me; they’ve trademarked what is known as the Marquis Fruit Weight.  The vineyard prides itself on its WOW factor, they want to gauge the wine’s ability to make people go “Wow, this is amazing!”  Fruit Weight is defined as the percentage of your palate from the tip of your tongue to the back of your throat that is covered by the velvety sensation of fruit, before you experience any of the structural components of the wine.  I have no idea what that means and there is a 3 minute video that tries to explain it on the Mollydooker website.  Whether it’s marketing b.s. or a serious wine term, I have no idea, but the quality of the wine speaks for itself.

“The Boxer” is a big-fisted Shiraz.  If you can, buy two bottles, one to drink now, and the other to drink sometime in 2014, because this wine needs time to mellow a little.  If you only buy one and plan to drink right away, it would be best to decanter or aerate.  The wine is aged for 11 months in American oak.  The color is a beautiful, inky-dark purple, and the nose is full of black fruit.  Despite the fruity nose, the taste is less of a fruit bomb than I expected, but it’s still a fruit bomb nonetheless.  If you like your wine have an understated elegance, better pass on this one.  If you like your wine full-bodied and about 16% alcohol, welcome home.  The finish is sweet and extremely enjoyable.  I was thinking that drinking this wine is like playing rugby in the mud with a bunch of very good friends.  Not the most elegant way of describing a wine, but it fits.  This wine was a blast, I loved it and I can’t wait for my next bottle!

For fun visit the Mollydooker website at www.MollydookerWines.com.  Trust me, you’ll enjoy it.

On a side note, my study of wine has brought a very good book to my attention.  Written by Paul Lukacs “Inventing Wine” is a history on how wine has changed from a food source to a source of spiritual significance over the last 8,000 years.  If you can give this book a try and enjoy a very fascinating and entertaining tale.

2 thoughts on “Mollydooker “The Boxer””

  1. The Boxer 2008 vintage is available at Center Street Wine & Spirits in Wallingford. It has the benefit of age that the 2010 does not and is drinking beautifully.

  2. This sounds like the perfect wine for me to start exploring outside of complete fruit bombs. I do love my fruit bombs, but eventually I hope to drink beyond the realms of alcoholic grape and apple juice.

Leave a Reply

