Nederburg Cabernet Sauvignon 2008

IMG_0400

 
 
I wish I had purchased this wine a week earlier for two reasons; first, it was on sale, so I could have saved two dollars and then I could have had it for my Cabernet Competition.  Believe me when I say the results would have been different!  So fire up the printers, Nederburg is a name you should remember when shopping for wine.
 
Let’s talk about the wine: the color was a wonderful dark-crimson red, not at all watery.  The nose was good but not perfect as I found it blew away too fast, but typically what I like in the nose others report as overpowering…wimps!  Though I wouldn’t call it bold, the flavor of the Nederburg was fuller than any of the four from last week, and well balanced too.  I guarantee you’ll love the taste of this wine, I’ve shared it with three other people so far and all have been impressed.
 
So, how did I find this wine?  Well, I’m an example of what you get when you combine a wine slut and compulsive researcher; I’m promiscuous in my wine buying.  Seriously, I’ll buy anything that somehow winks at me—a retail clerk’s recommendation, a mention in a magazine—I’m easy.  On the other hand I read, research, fact-check and investigate everything I drink.  The history of the vineyard, an interesting grape, or the location is generally what grabs me and pulls me into buying a wine.  This wine had it all; a price-tag of only $10, a vineyard that has been in continuous operation since 1791 located in South Africa, a place mind you that is very similar to California in the late 70’s early 80’s where wine making was busting loose.  Exciting things were happening and you could still afford to buy a bottle.
 
I strongly suggest you visit the Nederburg website www.Nederburg.com for a video on the history of the vineyard and a look at the other wines they make.  I’m already looking to buy some more.  Speaking of South African wines, did you know Nelson Mandela’s daughter and granddaughter have launched a wine label?  Sales of “House of Mandela” go to help the poor in South Africa.  Have you ever noticed how many women are wine makers, or how wine is a source of helping people grow economically?  .
 
At one time one of the world’s great wines, “Constatia,” came from a Vineyard near Cape Town, which is still in operation today.  The history of wine in South Africa can be traced to the Dutch East India Company.  They produced wine for the sailors on ships carrying spice from India to Europe to help ward off scurvy.  This also led them to develop port style wines that wouldn’t spoil on the long, hot trips.  Over 450,000 people are employed in the wine business is South Africa.  I expect to be learning more about the Wines of South Africa, and if Nederburg is any indication, my obsessive-compulsive wine behavior should be well rewarded!
 
Leave a Reply

