A Favorite Wine Place

IMG_0383

IMG_0365Do you have a particular place you like to drink wine?  Do you live someplace where the climate allows you to enjoy a sidewalk café?  Maybe you have a favorite restaurant or bar, perhaps you live near a beach or a lake and enjoy sipping while watching the waves. You might even know about a park or garden that is fine with the fruit of the vine and is a paradise all your own.

According to Google Earth I’ve seen 29% of the planet, so I think it’s safe to say I’ve had a few opportunities to find that perfect wine spot. I’ve drank wine in Rome, London, Athens, and Jerusalem. I’ve sipped fine wines on cruise ships with dinner as we graced the Atlantic. Funny thing is, in the end I didn’t have to go that far, because it turns out the best place to drink wine is in my back yard.  Either by the fire pit or on my patio Josephine has made our backyard HEAVEN, a place where you leave the world’s cares at the front door and enter paradise, if only for a few hours. There was this place in Sicily that gave me a run for my money, but technically that was my backyard too. 

I’m writing about this because I was able to use my backyard for the first time this spring and the old mojo was working. For a few hours I escaped electronics, deadlines, quotes, deliveries, taxes, politics, crazy sales people, chaos, tumult and confusion and enjoyed a great glass…okay…a great bottle of wine while the weight of the world went floating by like so many clouds above me.

The wine was Dona Paula Los Cardo, a Malbec from Mendoza, Argentina.  This wine had me at hello.  The color was a beautiful purple-red.  The nose was a spirited blend of sweetness, spice, and intense aromas of berry fruit and roasted nuts.  If you love fruit-forward wine this is a best-buy alert! The palate was fantastic: soft, velvety and fresh.  You’ll love this wine with everything from fancy meals, to entertaining with appetizers, or just sitting in a back yard on a sunny Sunday afternoon after doing some yard work and feeling relaxed for the first time in a long time.

This wine makes me feel like singing the old Coke song “I’d like to buy the world this wine and teach the world to sing in perfect harmony, grow apple trees and honey bees and snow white turtledoves.”  For me, wine really has become the healing balm of Gilead; a brief rest from a world just gone mad, which was one of the historical uses for wine anyways.  Recently, I shared my wine haven with my son, his wife, and my daughter-in-law for a perfect Father’s Day lunch. So friends, do the same: find your spot, open your wine, and realize that for all its sham and drudgery this is still a dilly of a planet with plenty of places to enjoy a bottle.  Remember wine is liquid sunshine.

“Sometimes you have to stop and sniff the corks!”
-Arna Dan Isacsson

Leave a Reply

